The Ultimate Veggie Pie Recipe

When I decided to become a vegetarian, I found myself loving all the new recipes I could try & all the Linda McCartney treats available. But I found myself lacking a ‘go-to’ option for a roast dinner. Pretty much a Sunday staple during winters in the UK, especially Christmas Day.

For this pie, you can use whatever veg you like, whatever veg you’ve got left in the fridge – it’s completely up to you!

I’m all for simple & easy cooking so here I present the ‘ultimate veggie pie’ recipe…

Veggie Pie Recipe (makes 4 portions typically)

Core Ingredients: 1 Onion (red or white), Tin of Tomatoes, Sprinkle of garlic powder (or add a clove of garlic), 1 teaspoon of paprika, 1 teaspoon of oregano & 1 Pack of Shortcrust pastry (I used Just Rol)

The Veg I used this time: 1 courgette, pepper & leek, 1/2 aubergine & 1/2 tub of mushrooms.

Start by chopping up all of your chosen veg into medium sized chunks, before starting to fry the onion on a medium heat for around five mins. Add the chopped veg to the pan & stir for around another five minutes.

Then, pour the tin of tomatoes into the pan, mixing with the veg. Add the seasoning (sprinkle of garlic powder, 1 teaspoon of oregano & paprika). Leave the mixture on a low heat for around 15 minutes, whilst prepping the pastry.


If you’re like me & want for a quick recipe, then using shortcrust pastry from the packet is easiest. But if you want to make your own pastry, then I take my hat off to you!!

Using a sprinkle of flour on the surface (if it’s a student kitchen, hopefully you’ve got some clear surface left?) & on the rolling pin, splitting the pastry into two squares & rolling to fit the dish you are using. Line the bottom of your dish with one of the pastry squares, making sure there is enough to hang over the edges & scoop the mixture into the dish.

All you’ve got left to do is cover the top of the pie with the second pastry square. Pierce the top of the pie just in-case your mixture decides it wants to try & escape in the oven. Briefly brush egg or milk (vegan option) over the pastry for a golden crisp pastry.

Cook for 30 minutes at 200 degrees & ta-da, you’re sorted for a veggie roast dinner!

Do you have a favourite ‘go-to’ veggie recipe?

Im x

3 thoughts on “The Ultimate Veggie Pie Recipe

  1. Since moving out i’ve made it my GOAL to make a home made pie but have never been motivated, this recipe has made it look super easy! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • that’s what i was like! it takes around 20 mins prep time before cooking so it is pretty easy for a pie that is delicious! 💗

      Like

Leave a comment